Call Us: 855.476.2701
Follow Us:

CMMC – Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification

GRC Consulting

CMMC – Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification

Cybersecurity and the threats that it is facing are becoming critical. Threats such as ransomware, phishing, and Trojans have become very sophisticated and one cannot think of a perfect IT environment. Some of these threats are causing the loss of billions these days to companies and businesses.

As cyber threats are on the steady rise, organizations have started to rethink their IT security approaches and strategies through which they can keep their data safe. Approaches such as the CMMC help cushion organizations from various cyber threats.

What is Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification?

The CCMC is the security framework by the US Department of Defence to access its contractors’ security, capability, and resilience. This is to help the department to eliminate and avoid the vulnerabilities in the supply chain. This Certification is created to keep the intellectual property of the department away from any kind of breach which can affect or weaken its operations.

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification is built on four elements: control practices, security domains, processes, and capabilities. The combination of these four elements creates risk-proof protection for DoD. It is crucial for the department because a slight breach can lead to a massive leakage of sensitive data which can become detrimental to the security of the country.

Different contractors have access to information tiers and DoD has created this program with a tiered approach. The contractors have to go meet that approach to become a prospective contractor for the Department of Defence.

Requirements of CMMC

The framework of CMMC comes with a five-tier approach. Level 1 of this approach is basic and level 5 of this approach is advanced maturity level. The DoD defines the levels required by a contractor depending on the data managed in the contract.

To achieve certification for each level, you must attain specific requirements through the collaboration of different cybersecurity components. Few details about each tier level are given below.

CMMC Level 1

This is the Basic Cyber Hygiene and this level involves 17 different security controls. This includes different steps for security such as strong passwords, two-factor or multi-factor authentication, antivirus, and secure Wi-Fi connections.

CMMC Level 2

This step focuses on the protection of Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) and the companies can document the intermediate cyber hygiene. The NIST 800-171 provides the requirements for protecting the confidentiality of information. To achieve the certification level, you must implement the provisions of this special publication.

CMMC Level 3

This implies that a company must have a management plan to implement quality cyber hygiene to safeguard CUI. This focuses on data and information protection through the plan of the organization and its institutional approach.

CMMC Level 4

Level 4 consist of proactive techniques and strategies through which a company can respond to Advanced Persistent Threats. To protect their companies’ information the companies need to have a preemptive and substantial cybersecurity program. Moreover, companies can also test their programs and level of security at this level.

CMMC Level 5

This is the most advanced security model certification and you will have to implement and ensure that the security practices are proactively optimized.

How to get CMMC?

The Department of Defence offers licensed assessors to help perform cybersecurity audits for organizations. Companies can get certification through third-party assessors. The assessors provide schedule assessments, evaluate security strengths and weaknesses, and determine if the company needs requirements for prospective cybersecurity maturity levels.

Why is the CMMC important?

If you want to be in business with the Department of Defence, then it is necessary to have CMMC as this will help the DoD to know all about the essential aspects of your data. The DoD rolled out this security framework to facilitate a defense in depth strategy across its contractor base. Moreover, if the businesses are interested in improving the cybersecurity of their company, they get this certification and can stay safe from all kinds of vulnerabilities.

Interested in ISO 27001 Training?

© 2024 SecuraStar. All right reserved.